Steve Clarke names FIVE Celts for squad against Cyprus & Belgium

New Scotland manager Steve Clarke has named five Celtic players in his first squad for June’s EURO 2020 double header qualifiers against Cyprus and Belgium.

Scott Bain, Callum McGregor and James Forrest retain their places in the squad, but there were shock call-ups for Oliver Burke and Lewis Morgan - the latter missing out on promotion to the English Championship with Sunderland [on loan from Celtic], while Burke dropped out of the Celtic squad for the Scottish Cup Final in favour of youngster Karamoko Dembele.

Former Celts Stuart Armstrong, Charlie Mulgrew and ex-youth players Stuart Findlay, Stephen O'Donnell and Andrew Robertson are all called up to the Scotland squad - with no place for any Rangers players as Allan McGregor retired from international football under Alex McLeish, midfielder Ryan Jack is still trying to recover from winning the league in December with his goal of the season against Celtic and Andy Halliday is still dreaming of the best day in his life to not see the text from Clarke.

Alex McLeish was sacked as Scotland manager after a disastrous start to the campaign as the national side suffered a humiliating 3-0 defeat away to Kazakhstan and despite a 2-0 win against San Marino it wasn’t enough to save his job and Clarke took over last week after guiding Kilmarnock to a third placed finish in the Scottish Premiership.

Cyprus visit Hampden on 8 June before Clarke's side travel to take on Belgium three days later.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Scott Bain (Celtic), Liam Kelly (Livingston), David Marshall (Hull City), Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)

Defenders: Michael Devlin (Aberdeen), Stuart Findlay (Kilmarnock), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers), Stephen O'Donnell (Kilmarnock), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), John Souttar (Heart of Midlothian), Greg Taylor (Kilmarnock)

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Tom Cairney (Fulham), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen)

Forwards: Eamonn Brophy (Kilmarnock), Oliver Burke (Celtic, on loan from West Brom), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth), Marc McNulty (Hibernian, on loan from Reading), Lewis Morgan (Sunderland, on loan from Celtic), Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City).